Types of Owls

Owls, the night hunters of the raptor world, can be found in all in all areas of the world with the exception of Antarctica.
Owl species divide into two families the Barn Owls (Tytonidae) and the Tree Owls (Strigidae), based on physical differences. Generally the barn owls, like the one in the top picture, are characterized by long legs, a heart shaped face and small eyes.
Despending on the source, between 19-21 owl species, divided into eleven genera, are common residents of the United States. The Barn Owl is the sole Tytonidae representative.

Barn Owl (Tyto alba)
Boreal Owl (Aegolius funereus)
Northern Saw-whet Owl (Aegolius acadicus)
Long-eared Owl (Asio otus)
Short-eared Owl (Asio flammeus)
Burrowing Owl (Athene cunicularia)
Great Horned Owl (Bubo virginianus)
Snowy Owl (Bubo scandiacus)
Ferruginous Pygmy-Owl (Glaucidium brasilianum)
Mountain PYgmy-Owl (Glaucidium )
Northern Pygmy Owl (Glaucidium gnoma)
Eastern Screech-Owl (Megascops asio)
Western Screech-Owl (Megascops kennicottii)
Whiskered Screech-Owl (Megascops trichopsis)
Elf Owl (Micrathene whitneyi)
Flammulated Owl (Otus flammeolus)
Spotted Owl (Strix occidentalis)
Barred Owl (Strix varia)
Great Gray Owl (Strix nebulosa)
Northern Hawk Owl (Surnia ulula)


Post a Comment


Design in CSS by TemplateWorld and sponsored by SmashingMagazine
Blogger Template created by Deluxe Templates