Types of Birds
Birds are generally recognized as the feathered, flying members of the animal kingdom, situated in the class Aves.
The world's ten thousand bird species typically get organized into approximately thirty different orders.
Approximately nine hundred year round and migratory bird species live in the United States. They generally fits into eighteen different bird orders.

1: Loons (Order Gaviiformes)
2: Grebes (Order Podicipediformes)
3: Albatross, Sharwaters, Strom Petrels (Order Procellariiformes)
4: Pelicans and Cormorants (Order Pelecaniformes)
5: Herons (Order Ciconiiformes)
6: Ducks, Geese, Swans (Order Anseriformes)
7: Eagles, Falcons, Hawks, Vultures (Order Falconiformes)
8: Chachalaca Grouse, Turkey, Quail (Order Galliformes)
9: Rails (Order Gruiformes)
10: Shorebirds such as Plovers, Sandpipers, Gulls and Terns (Order Charadriiformes)
11: Cuckoos, Roadrunners Order: Cuculiformes
12: Nighthawks Order Caprimulgiformes
13: Doves and Pigeons (Order Columbiformes)
14: Owls (Order Strigiformes)
15: Swifts, Hummingbirds (Order Apodiformes)
16: Kingflisher (Order Coraciiformes)
17: Woodpeckers (Order Piciformes)
18: Everything else (Order Passeriformes)

Almost one-half of North American species fit into the Passeriformes order, the perching birds. Passerines (sparrows, finches, cardinals, jays, crows, warblers and more), as they are collectively known, are the most common birds seen in residential areas and backyard feeders..


Post a Comment


Design in CSS by TemplateWorld and sponsored by SmashingMagazine
Blogger Template created by Deluxe Templates